Gotta Get Get

black_eyed_peas
The number one song in the USA right now is Boom Boom Pow, by Black Eyed Peas. I didn’t know this was a fact until I checked in with the Billboard Top 100 today even though I went out to a couple of clubs on Saturday night and probably heard it no less than seven times. To be honest, my best clubbing days are in my rear view mirror getting smaller and smaller, but every once in a while I get out and see what’s moving feet and shakin’ dorsal fins. Boom Boom Pow pretty much followed me everywhere on Saturday night. Like most of will.i.am’s songs, he understands what is hot, and then he delivers a quick and tasty morsel that’s easily consumed in mass quantity, and then it disappears like the secret message in Mission Impossible.

So, your mission, if you accept it, is to go on Qtrax and download Boom Boom Pow and count how many genres and musical styles the Black Eyed Peas borrow from for this track. For example, I’m hearing Moby, T-Pain, Nelly, Daft Punk, Jock Jams etc. It’s almost as if there are absolutely no original thoughts in this entire song, which kind of makes it totally unique—if that makes any sense. You don’t know if they spent one afternoon on recording this track, or if it took years to create. Is it perfectly simple or simply perfect? Or is it somehow duping our brains into heading to the dance floor it so it can steal our credit card numbers and bank PIN numbers. I don’t know. Help me out here.

Total search time on Qtrax for Boom Boom Pow: 4 seconds.
Total download time: 8 seconds.
Total headshaking groovealisciousness: 4 minutes 12 seconds.

2 Responses to “Gotta Get Get”

  1. Whats great about Qtrax is variety, all 4 lables and indies. I wouldn’t touch some of the new stuff with the proverbial 10 foot pole, but classic Neil Young and the likes, hook a bother up, as the kids say?

  2. LOVE YOU…….
    LOS AMO …. ARE THE BEST, I LOVE ALL YOUR SONGS AND YOU EXPECTACULAR FERGIE IS NOT LEFT BEHIND … TRUTH admired both! And hopes that it no longer follow STATES IS WELL TOGETHER THE RE VE.

    I love
    I love
    I love
    I love

Leave a Reply

